Candidates' Support for SIU Charter

In February 2016, Scotland in Union launched a 5-point Holyrood charter.  Our charter appeals to all candidates for the Holyrood elections to sign up to a more respectful and decent politics, moving on from the 2014 referendum to use the powers our politicians now have as best they can. 

We have contacted all five of the main parties with elected representatives at Holyrood to ask them to take a look and to sign up if they agreed with the principles.

You can read our charter in detail here.

In summary it called for candidates to:

1. Move on from the referendum together;

2. Work together with the rest of the UK;

3. Use the powers Holyrood now has;

4. Respect our great Scottish institutions;

5. Uphold decency in politics.

So far 75 candidates have signed, including the leaders of the Scottish Conservative and Scottish Liberal Democrat parties. If you are a candidate and would like to sign it too, please contact us and we will add your name. The full list of candidates who support our charter (in alphabetical order) is here:

Adam Tomkins Conservative Glasgow Anniesland and list candidate for Glasgow region
Alex Cole-Hamilton Liberal Democrat Edinburgh Western and list candidate for Lothian region
Alex Johnstone Conservative List candidate for North East Scotland 
Alexander Burnett Conservative Aberdeenshire West
Alison Evison Labour Aberdeen South and North Kincardine
Alison McInnes Liberal Democrat List candidate for North East Scotland 
Altany Craik Labour Mid Scotland and Fife
Anas Sarwar Labour List candidate for Glasgow
Andrew Morrison Conservative Uddingston & Bellshill
Angela MacLean Liberal Democrat Skye, Lochaber & Badenoch
Annie Wells Conservative List candidate for Glasgow 
Barrie Cunning Labour Midlothian South, Tweedale & Lauderdale
Ben Proctor Labour List candidate for West Scotland 
Bill Butler Labour Glasgow Anniesland 
Blair Heary Labour Edinburgh Pentlands
Brian Whittle Conservative Kilmarnock & Irvine, and list candidate for South Scotland region
Carolyn Caddick Liberal Democrat List candidate for Highlands & Islands
Charles Kennedy Conservative Linlithgow
Clive Sneddon Liberal Democrat Angus South
Cllr Ross Thomson Conservative Aberdeen South & North Kincardine
Craig Martin Labour Falkirk East
David Evans Liberal Democrat Banfshire & Buchan Coast and list candidate for North East region
Dean Lockhart Conservative Stirling
Donald Cameron Conservative Argyll & Bute
Edward Mountain Conservative Inverness & Nairn
Eileen McCartin Liberal Democrat Paisley & Renfewshire South
Elaine Smith Labour Coatbridge and Chryston 
Euan Davidson Liberal Democrat Angus North & Mearns and list candidate for North East region
Gerry McGarvey Labour Orkney
Graeme Brooks Conservative Greenock & Inverclyde
Graham Hutchison Conservative Glasgow Southside
Hannah Bettsworth Liberal Democrat Lothian
Huw Bell Conservative North East Fife
Iain McGill Conservative Edinburgh Northern & Leith
Jackie Baillie Labour Dumbarton
Jackson Carlaw Conservative Eastwood
Jacquie Bell Liberal Democrat Midlothian North & Musselburgh & list candidate for Lothian 
James Calder Liberal Democrat Dunfermline
James Harrison Liberal Democrat Glasgow Maryhill & Springburn
Jamie Halcro Johnston Conservative Orkney
Jane-Ann Liston Liberal Democrat Mid Fife & Glenrothes, list candidate for Mid Scotland & Fife
Jenny Marra Labour Dundee West and list candidate for North East Scotland
Joanne McFadden Labour Angus South
John Lamont Conservative Ettrick, Roxburgh and Berwickshire
John Ruddy Labour Angus North & Mearns
John Scott Conservative Ayr
Ken McIntosh Labour Eastwood
Kyle Thornton Conservative Glasgow Cathcart
Leah Franchetti Labour Caithness, Sutherland and Ross
Lee Lyons Conservative Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley
Leslie Hinds Labour Edinburgh Northern & Leith
Liam McArthur Liberal Democrat Orkney
LizAnne Handibode Labour East Kilbride
Margaret McCarthy Labour Strathkelvin & Bearsden
Margaret Mitchell Conservative Hamilton, Larkhall and Stonehouse
Martin Laidlaw Conservative Kirkcaldy
Mary Fee Labour Renfrewshire North & West
Megan Gallacher Conservative Motherwell and Wishaw
Mick Rice Labour Argyll & Bute
Mike Rumbles Liberal Democrat Aberdeenshire West and list candidate for the North East
Miles Briggs Conservative Edinburgh Southern
Murdo Fraser Conservative Perthshire North, List Candidate for Mid Scotland and Fife
Neil Bibby Labour Paisley
Paul Martin Labour Glasgow Provan
Paul Masterton Conservative Paisley
Paul Sweeney Labour List candidate for the West Scotland region
Pramod Subaraman Liberal Democrat Edinburgh Southern
Robert Brown Liberal Democrat Rutherglen and list candidate for Glasgow
Ruth Davidson Conservative Edinburgh Central
Sarah Atkin Labour List candidate for Highlands & Islands
Struan Mackie Conservative Caithness, Sutherland and Ross
Tavish Scott Liberal Democrat Shetland
Taylor Muir Conservative Rutherglen  
Thomas Rannachan Labour Glasgow Shettleston
Willie Rennie Liberal Democrat List candidate for Mid Scotland and Fife



Register Your Support Contact Us Subscribe to our newsletter